In April, Kalidas Madhavpeddi (right) received the 2016 Mary Anne Fay Women’s Heart Health Advocate of the Year Award for his dedication and enthusiastic support of the work of the Women’s Heart Health Education Committee. The award was established in 2011 to honor Mary Anne Fay’s (left) dedication to raising awareness about heart disease and its impact on women. Kalidas has served as chair of the UA Sarver Heart Center Advisory Board since 2010.
Hall Award Recipients for 2016
This year, the Charles W. Hall, Jr. and Virginia C. Hall Memorial Awards were presented to Halie Shah, MD (left), and Kristina Skinner, DO, second-year internal medicine residents in the UA Department of Medicine – Tucson. A Hall award includes a monetary stipend and recognizes amazing residents on the coronary care unit rotation at Banner University Medical Center –Tucson.
During her CCU rotations, Dr. Shah conscientiously met her patients’ needs, while remaining open to learning and demonstrating a passion for cardiac physiology. “Thank you to the Hall family for the resident excellence in the cardiac care unit award. I am so honored and appreciative of this recognition. Thank you for your generosity with your gift as well,” said Dr. Shah. She plans to pursue primary care after residency. She has identified cardiology as an important area in which a primary care physician should be particularly knowledgeable.
Dr. Skinner received the University Of Arizona Internal Medicine ‘Intern of the Year’ Award in her first year of residency. She has a passion for cardiology and plans to continue onto a cardiovascular medicine fellowship program after residency. “Thank you to the Hall Family. I am honored to accept the prestigious Charles W. Hall, Jr. & Virginia C. Hall Memorial Award and grateful to the Hall family for their generosity,” said Dr. Skinner.
“We are thankful the Hall family continues to provide the UA Sarver Heart Center with the means to recognize and encourage the newest generation of health professionals,” said Nancy K. Sweitzer, MD, PhD, director of the UA Sarver Heart Center and chief of cardiology.
UA Sarver Heart Center board member and chair of the Minority Outreach Program, Wanda Moore (center), received the Tucson Urban League’s Henry Quinto Award in March in recognition of her extensive volunteer efforts to address social justice issues surrounding health care disparities, particularly regarding heart disease. About 47 percent of African American women are living with cardiovascular disease, including coronary artery disease, high blood pressure and diabetes, conditions that also disproportionately affect Mexican American and Native American women.
During the past six years, Wanda has led committee members who have volunteered more than 200,000 hours, trained 3,100 people in chest-compression-only CPR, delivered more than 30 heart disease presentations in the community, funded three investigator awards to research heart disease in women of color and established an endowment to fund continued research into heart disease in women of color. Also pictured: Debra Embry (left), chief executive officer of the Tucson Urban League, and Georgia Hale, interim chair of the TUL board.
Lori Noirot, RN, (center) received the 2015 Brian Bateman Superb Service Award for her efforts in “consistently being a team player and going the extra mile to advocate for diagnostic cardiology patients.” The award was established by Sarver Heart Center’s former development director, Brian Bateman (left) to honor staff members who demonstrate outstanding service in support of the Sarver Heart Center mission. Lori was nominated by Samir Dahdal, MD (right), a cardiologist with Banner – University Medical Center.
Steven Taylor, MD, a 2016 graduate of the UA College of Medicine –Tucson, received the Zenas B. Noon, MD, Award of Excellence in Cardiology. Dr. Taylor will pursue a residency in internal medicine at the University of Colorado in Denver.
Dr. Noon was born in Nogales, Ariz., in 1905. A 1926 graduate of the University of Arizona, he studied medicine at the Medical College of Virginia and completed his internship at the University of Michigan before pursuing post-graduate work at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Pennsylvania. In 1933, he returned to Nogales as the medical director of the Federal Emergency Relief Administration Transient Camp. He later established a private practice and was the only surgeon in Nogales for 35 years, except for the four years he was on active duty during WWII. Despite suffering a heart attack in 1971, Dr. Noon lived a full, happy life with his wife and six children until 1981. In gratitude for the excellent care Dr. Noon received from the cardiology department at what was then University Hospital, his family set up the Zenas B. Noon Award for Excellence in Cardiology.
Congratulations Dr. Taylor! We know you will take the Wildcat spirit with you to Colorado.