Research

Timothy G. Lohman, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Physiology
(520) 626-2639
lohman@email.arizona.edu

Stan Lindstedt, PhD

Personal Information
Regent’s Professor, Biological Sciences, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff
(928) 523-7524
stan.lindstedt@nau.edu

Sean Limesand, MD

Personal Information
Assistant Professor of Animal Sciences
(520) 626-8903
limesand@ag.arizona.edu

Douglas F. Larson, PhD, CCP

Personal Information
Director, Circulatory Sciences, Graduate Perfusion Education
Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology
(520) 626-6494
dflarson@u.arizona.edu

Richard D. Lane, MD

Personal Information
Professor of Psychiatry
(520) 626-2154
lane@u.arizona.edu

Paul LaStayo, PhD

Personal Information
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy, University of Utah College of Health
(801) 581-7419
paul.lastayo@health.utah.edu

David Kurjiaka, PhD

Personal Information
Research Assistant Professor of Physiology
(520) 626-6833
kurjiaka@email.arizona.edu

Paul A. Krieg, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Cell Biology & Anatomy
(520) 626-9370
pkrieg@u.arizona.edu

John Konhilas, PhD

Personal Information
Associate Professor of Physiology, Biomedical Engineering, Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Molecular and Cellular Biology, Nutritional Sciences, Physiological Sciences
(520) 626-6578
konhilas@email.arizona.edu

The Konhilas Lab is interested in how the molecular and cellular biology of the heart cell impacts the contractile properties of the intact heart. A number of factors influence gene expression and cell signaling in the cardiac myocyte including diet, exercise, disease and sex/gender. The changes induced by these factors will ultimately affect cardiac contractile function. It is this functional relationship that the Konhilas team is studying using a variety of molecular, cellular, and physiological techniques. The focus is on the intermediates responsible for substrate utilization and presentation to the contractile apparatus. The goal is to understand how the physiological factors of diet, exercise, disease and sex/gender impact substrates in the cell and how the presentation of these substrates affects contractile function.The team also is interested in how cardiac disease can influence peripheral organ systems including skeletal muscle. umans with cardiac disease also experience severe skeletal muscle weakness and fatigue. This cannot be attributed entirely to poor circulation caused by reduced contractile function. Instead, it is likely the specific alteration of specific muscle factors responsible for substrate metabolism and delivery to the muscle cell.

Paula D. Johnson, DVM, MS

Personal Information
Assistant Veterinary specialist, University Animal Care
(520) 621-3483
pauladj@email.arizona.edu
Syndicate content