Research

Joseph F. Gross, PhD

Personal Information
Professor Emeritus, Physiology
(520) 626-7559
jfgross@u.arizona.edu

Hendrikus (Henk) Granzier, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Physiology, Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Biomedical Engineering, Molecular and Cellular Biology, Physiolofical Sciences
Allan & Alfie Norville Endowed Chair for Heart Disease in Women Research
BIO5 Institute
(520) 626-3641
granzier@email.arizona.edu

Hendrikus Granzier, PhD, studies the mechanisms whereby the giant filamentous protein titin (the largest protein known) influence muscle structure and function. His lab has shown that titin functions as a molecular spring that mediates acute responses to changing pathophysiological states of the heart. They also study the role of titin in cardiac disease, using mouse models with specific modifications in the titin gene, including deciphering the mechanisms that are responsible for gender differences in diastolic dysfunction. An additional focus of Dr. Granzier’s lab is on nebulin, a major muscle protein that causes a severe skeletal muscle disease in humans. Based on previous work, they hypothesize that nebulin is a determinant of calcium sensitivity of contractile force. To test this and other concepts, he uses a nebulin knockout approach in the mouse. Research is multi-faceted and uses cutting-edge techniques at levels ranging across the single molecule, single cell, muscle, and the intact heart. His research group is diverse and has brought together individuals from several continents with expertise ranging from physics and chemistry to cell biology and physiology.

 

Robert W. Gore, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Physiology/Anatomy
(520) 626-6569
gore@u.arizona.edu

Scott Going, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Nutritional Sciences; Research Director, Center for Physical Activity and Nutrition
(520) 621-4705
going@email.arizona.edu

Arthur F. Gmitro, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Radiology & Optical Sciences
(520) 626-4720
gmitro@radiology.arizona.edu

Janet Funk, MD

Personal Information
Research Associate Professor of Medicine
(520) 626-3242
jfunk@email.arizona.edu

Melissa Faulkner, DSN, RN

Personal Information
The Gladys E Sorensen Endowed Professor (College of Nursing)
(520) 626-4970
mfaulkner@nursing.arizona.edu

Jose EkVitorin, MD, PhD

Personal Information
Research Assistant Professor of Physiology
(520) 626-6740
ekvitori@email.arizona.edu

Thomas Doetschman, PhD

Personal Information
Professor of Cell Biology & Anatomy, BIO5 Institute
(520) 626-4901
tdoetsch@u.arizona.edu

Behrooz Dehdashti, PhD

Personal Information
Research Specialist, Cardiology
(520) 626-1850
behrooz@u.arizona.edu
Syndicate content