UA Health Sciences Faculty Members, Programs and Banner – UMC Tucson Recognized as `Influential Health and Medical Leaders’

Tucson Local Media recently announced the winners of its annual Influential Health and Medical Leaders Awards, including several University of Arizona Health Sciences-affiliated faculty members and its clinical partner, Banner– University Medical Center Tucson.

Inside Tucson Business and Tucson Local Media solicited community nominations of individuals working within the health and medical fields who have shown outstanding dedication to their work. Medical leaders in 20 different categories were honored at the Sept. 27 ceremony, selected out of 130 nominees and 60 finalists. Awards were presented by Tucson Local Media president and publisher Jason Joseph.

Banner – University Medical Center Tucson was named Outstanding Inpatient Facility in Tucson at the awards ceremony.

In addition, the following UA Health Sciences-affiliated faculty members and programs won in their respective categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award: David S. Alberts, MD, director emeritus, UA Cancer Center, Regents Professor of medicine, pharmacology, nutritional science and public health.

Outstanding Oncology/Radiology: Emad Elquza, MD, associate professor of medicine, medical director of the UA Cancer Center. All finalists in this category are members of the UA Cancer Center: Frederick Ahmann, MD, professor of medicine and surgery, the John Norton Endowed Chair for Prostate Cancer Research. Simran Sindhu, DO, assistant professor of medicine.

Outstanding Medical Research: Brian S. McKay, PhD, associate professor of ophthalmology and vision science, and cell biology and anatomy.

Outstanding Outreach: Ronald S. Weinstein, MD; founding director of the Arizona Telemedicine Program, professor of pathology, pharmacy practice-science, public health and medical imaging.

Additional UA Health Sciences-affiliated finalists included:

Outstanding Nurse: Kate Schussel, BSN, RN, interprofessional care coordinator UA College of Pharmacy, Medication Management Center;

Outstanding Pediatric Care: Mary-Jane Barth, MD, clinical associate professor of surgery and a member of the UA Sarver Heart Center;

Outstanding Retinal/Eye Care: Lynn Polonski, MD, clinical assistant professor of ophthalmology and vision science.

The winners were announced during a Sept. 27 awards dinner at the Casino del Sol Resort in Tucson.

Tucson Local Media owns the following publications: Explorer, Marana News, Foothills News, Desert Times and Inside Tucson Business.