Katri V. Typpo, MD

Division Chief, Critical Care, Pediatrics
Associate Professor
Research Interests: 
Dr. Typpo has a broad background in large database analysis and epidemiology.  Early in her career she examined the epidemiology of multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS) during pediatric critical illness in large clinical databases.  She completed a health services research fellowship at the Houston VA HSR&D Center of Excellence in Houston, TX while pursuing her Master of Public Health (MPH) degree at UT Houston, and was an investigator in the division of Health Policy and Quality. She was an assistant professor of pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and faculty in the pediatric intensive care unit at Texas Children’s Hospital before moving to Arizona in 2009.  She has transitioned to a career in clinical and translational research under the mentorship of Dr Fayez Ghishan.  Her current research as a scholar in the Pediatric Critical Care and Trauma Scientist Development Program (PCCTSDP) and supported trainee on the Arizona Health Sciences Center Career Development Award examines non-nutritive benefits of enteral and parenteral nutrition on intestinal epithelial barrier function and microbiome diversity in two populations of critically ill children: children who require mechanical ventilation and infants with congenital heart disease.  Modulation of intestinal epithelial barrier function and microbiome diversity are two novel therapeutic targets with the potential to reduce organ dysfunction and hospital acquired infection rates during pediatric critical illness.  Dr. Typpo hopes to develop nutritional strategies which will improve outcomes for her patients. In addition to her own program of research, Dr. Typpo also acts as a site investigator for several multi-centered clinical trials funded by the NIH, recruiting patients at Diamond Children’s.
Board Certifications: 
American Board of Pediatrics
Saint Louis University School of Medicine, 2001
Baylor College of Medicine (Critical Care), 2008
Baylor College of Medicine, 2004
Primary College, Department: