Sarver Heart Center Board

The Sarver Heart Center Board is a statewide group that provides input to Sarver Heart Center about community needs and perceptions, and helps the Center connect with people and groups around Arizona. 

The University of Arizona Sarver Heart Center
PO Box 245046
Tucson, AZ 85724-5046
(520) 626-4146


Kalidas Madhavpeddi
Board Chair

I am continually impressed and inspired by the research and community outreach efforts of the Sarver Heart Center.  As a donor and congenital heart disease survivor, I know the importance of this work first-hand and am personally grateful to be a part of it.

Sarver Heart Center members share their time and expertise with our communities. Attending tours and events gives us a rare opportunity to see how the Sarver Heart Center works to research causes and develop cures for cardiovascular disease. 

Wanda F Moore
Chair Wanda F Moore
SHC Community Coalition for Heart Health Education for Women of Color

Women's Heart Health Education Committee

Heart disease is the number one killer of women, surpassing all forms of cancer combined! With your support, we hope to further the realization that heart disease in women, especiallly women of color, carries a special set of challenges that requires significant research.

Though the Sarver Heart Center has made significant advances in the detection and treatment of heart disease, we continue to lose too many mothers, sisters and daughters to this killer. Additional research, specifically in heart disease in women, is one of our top priorities.

Remember that a healthy lifestyle is an important component to your own “future free of heart disease and stroke.”

On behalf of the University of Arizona Sarver Heart Center, and the Community Coalition for Heart Health Education for Women of Color, thank you for your interest in supporting heart health research and education in women.

Wanda has served as Chair of the SHC Community Coalition for Heart Health Education for Women of Color since 2009.

She has served as Co-Chair of the Women's Heart Health Education Committee since 2019.

Watch a video she produced on CPR Disparities in Minority Communities.

Wanda was honored with a Governor's Volunteer Services Award in Arizona in 2014. Watch a video about her achievements.



Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
Professor, Anesthesiology - (Clinical Scholar Track)

Assistant Professor, Clinical
Director, Health Equity Analytics Lab (HEAL)

Senior Vice President, Health Sciences
Professor, Medical Imaging
Professor, Surgery
Professor, Medicine

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology
Flinn Foundation and American Heart Association Endowed Chair in Electrophysiology and Heart Disease Research
Program Director, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship

Interim Chief, Division of Cardiology
Interim Director, UA Sarver Heart Center
Associate Professor, Medicine - (Clinical Scholar Track)
Medical Director, Advanced Heart Failure and Transplantation, Banner – University Medical Center Tucson and South

Members Include

Joseph Alpert, MD

Robert M. Charles, Jr.

David L. Earnest, MD

Nina R. Gibson, PhD

James W. Gieszl

Joseph G. Gootter

Elizabeth Juneman, MD

Sheldon King

Linda Lee

Humberto S. Lopez
Board Chair Emeritus

James L. Madson

Andrew Messing

Allan Norville

Karen Pacheco

Barry Pomerantz, MD
W. Scott Robertson, MD
Paradise Valley

Herbert Rubin

Betty Anne Sarver
Robert G. Sarver
Paradise Valley

Richard G. Smith

Kathleen Wishnick, Ed.D.

LaToya Singletary
Senior Director of Development, UArizona College of Medicine - Tucson

Colleen Menadier
Director, Communications

Cara Deery
Program Manager, Outreach and Education
Charlotte Todd
Sr. Business Manager